First Handspun On The New Wheel!

Oh yeah, for those not watching my little videocasts, I bought a new spinning wheel last Thursday! It’s another Lendrum DT, since I sold my first Lendrum DT 2 years ago when I was having all that wrist pain. So, I’ve been spinning up a storm since last Thursday, and finished my first yarn on the new wheel today.

I started with 100% Blue Faced Leicester sliver from Fleece Artist. From the smell, I’d guess it was indigo dyed.

BFL Sliver from Fleece Artist - 3 ply semi woolen

I started by splitting the fiber lengthwise a couple of times –

BFL Sliver from Fleece Artist - 3 ply semi woolen

Then, I did a bit of pre-drafting, because the fiber was fairly stuck together. It formed these wonderful little roving clouds –

BFL Sliver from Fleece Artist - 3 ply semi woolen

I made a little test skein by navajo plying the fiber –

BFL Sliver from Fleece Artist - navajo plied test skein

I was happy with the weight, but wanted to do a traditional 3-ply instead, so I started spinning singles to that end –

BFL Sliver from Fleece Artist - singles

I finished plying the singles up this morning, and set the twist right after. It poofed up a ton!

BFL Sliver from Fleece Artist - 3 ply semi woolen

I still have to measure my yardage. I didn’t bother measuring the yardage before I set the twist, because I knew it was going to puff up a bit and I’d lose some yardage.

One thought on “First Handspun On The New Wheel!

Comments are closed.