Next Up: A Jacket

I’ve decided to make New Look 6035 – View A, a blazer style jacket, using the floral cotton sateen I talked about a few weeks ago. Originally, I had planned to make a dress with this fabric, but I decided to kick it up a little bit, and make something a little less expected from this fabric.

New Look 6035 Front

I’m making View A, but I’ve decided to shorten the sleeves to 3/4 length.

New Look 6035 Back

I’ve made it as far as tissue fitting the jacket –

New Look 6035 Tissue Fitting

I opted to make a 10 in the shoulders, 12 in the bust, waist and hips, because I want some extra room so I can have the option of wearing a blouse under it, instead of just a tank top.

I also shortened the waist by 1″, which wasn’t ideal – I think I should have shortened it by 2 inches – but if I shortened it any more than 1″ I would have had to add length back to the bottom of the jacket, and honestly, I didn’t want to bother, since there’s so much shaping at the bottom. I think it’ll be fine though.

I’ve now finished cutting the pieces out –

New Look 6035 Sneak Peek

I think this is going to be a great little jacket that will be perfect for spring and summer.  I already have grand plans to make coordinating capris and skirts for this one.

Wishing everyone a Happy Easter!!

