Serger Fun: Making A T-Shirt

When I first bought my serger, in August 2011, I bought some awesome star spangled knit fabric to go along with it. I had plans of jumping in immediately and making myself a t-shirt. Well, the reality of serger ownership revealed a bit of a learning curve, so I never ended up getting to that t-shirt.

Last night, I pre-washed my fabric, traced my size of the pattern, and cut my pieces though! –

Butterick B5215

I think this fabric was about $5 per meter, and I’m fairly certain I can get more, so I’m not too worried about jumping in and going for it. Already a good sign: it looks like it’s going to fit!

Don’t you love all the stars?!? –

Butterick B5215

The pattern is from Butterick, B5215 and has 3 different versions, depending on how much shape you want in your t-shirt and how long you would like the sleeves.

Butterick B5215

I chose Version A, which is fitted and has cap sleeves. It looks a little more curvy than the t-shirts I buy, but the cap sleeves don’t look super short, which is a pleasant surprise. I cut the small size, and went with my upper bust measurement to decide this.

Now I just have to get the serging order right…shoulders, sleeves….wait, wouldn’t it make sense to sew on the neckband before the second shoulder? I have some thinking and research to do…

2 thoughts on “Serger Fun: Making A T-Shirt

    • Thanks Kate! That is exactly how I’m going to do it next time…I did the neck band last this time…not sure how I feel about it…

Comments are closed.