WIP: Colette Jasmine Blouse – Version 2

Last summer I got in the habit of re-tracing my pattern pieces onto a piece of wax paper. I found that this gummed up my Sharpie, and involved a lot of taping, since it was pretty narrow.

At some point, I switched to parchment paper and I haven’t looked back! Last night I traced out the Version 2 of the Jasmine Blouse in the Size 10 –

Colette Jasmin Blouse - Version B Progress

It was so nice to be able to do all the tracing at a table, instead of on the floor or balanced on the ironing board or coffee table, like I used to have to do.

Colette Jasmin Blouse - Version B Progress

I finished the tracing up and dove head first into cutting. I grabbed some 100% polyester fabric that I found for about $2 at a thrift store near my cat’s vet when he was sick last year. I really love the print.

There’s only one problem with this fabric – I didn’t have quite enough for this project, and when Colette Patterns says you need a certain amount of fabric, they aren’t overestimating!

So, I had to make a, er, compromise –

Colette Jasmin Blouse - Version B Progress

Since this blouse is cut on the bias, matching the proper grain-lines is super important, but I only had enough fabric to cut the last back piece on the correct grain if I flipped the piece and cut the fabric so the wrong side would be showing. This is when my muslin really became a muslin!

As much as I love the print, 100% polyester won’t see that much use from me (I’m a sweaty girl!), so I don’t think this blouse would have become much more than a muslin anyway.

I opted to have 1/4 of my blouse with the wrong side showing to preserve the proper bias cut. And guess what – if that’s the only issue with it, I’ll make another one, but you can be sure I’ll wear this one too! I’ll just have to make sure I wear it with a cardigan over top.

I am super excited to start sewing this blouse up!

2 thoughts on “WIP: Colette Jasmine Blouse – Version 2

  1. Parchment is a brilliant idea. I keep buying packs of Burda tracing paper whenever Fabricana has a 50% off notions sale, but to be honest all the folding, unfolding and ironing of those giant sheets makes me crazy. It’s so rare to have a pattern piece that’s wider than a roll of parchment anyway! You’re a genius.

    • Thanks! I tried the Burda tracing paper and I found it a bit unruly – I also ended up with a ripped taped mess at one point and there were tears…One thing I really like about the parchment (other than that you can really easily see the pattern markings) is that it’s really easy to tape if you’re making alterations to the pattern.

Comments are closed.